The Board

2019-2020 OPCC Board of Directors

President | Ate Hoekstra
Ate Hoekstra is from The Netherlands and he works as a correspondent in Cambodia, Thailand, Myanmar, Vietnam and Laos. He works regularly for the Dutch newspapers Trouw and Het Financieele Dagblad, as well as Deutsche Welle and UCANews. He is based Phnom Penh.

Vice President | Enric Català Contreras
Enric Català Contreras is a photographer and videographer based in Phnom Penh since 2015. He contributes to the South China Morning Post and Nikkei Asian Review, among others.

Treasurer | Peter Ford
Pete Ford is a freelance writer and photographer (and full time PR stooge), regularly filing social history, politics, environmental and travel articles from across the region. A former Cambodia Daily reporter, he has recent bylines in local and international publications including The Independent, Christian Science Monitor, Southeast Asia Globe, South China Morning Post, and ThinkProgress.

Secretary | Marissa Carruthers
Marissa Carruthers is a freelance journalist based in Phnom Penh since 2012. She has more than 16 years of experience in the field, with regular bylines in South China Morning Post, Eco-Business and Action Asia. She is also TTG Asia’s correspondent for Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar and Vietnam. Marissa spent four years as editor of AsiaLIFE and is currently editor of Forward, a Cambodian business publication.

Regular Board Members

Matt SurruscoMatt Surrusco is a journalist based in Cambodia since 2016.

Jose Rodriguez Senase
Jose Rodriguez T. Señase is a Filipino writer and journalist based in Phnom Penh. He has more than 12 years of experience as a journalist and has written extensively on social issues, military, environment, business, law, education, agriculture, arts, travel, sports, and politics. Jose is a former reporter and copy editor for the Leyte Samar Daily Express in the Philippines and Palau Horizon, Tia Belau, and Island Times in Palau. Presently, Jose is writer and editor of

Quinn Lisbon

Juliette Buchez


1993/94 Leo DobbsReuters
1994/95Mark DoddReuters
1996/97Matthew LeeAgence-France Presse
1997/98Matthew LeeAgence-France Presse
1998/99Matthew LeeAgence-France Presse
1999/00 Christopher FontaineAssociated Press
2000/01 Chris DecherdAssociated Press
2001/02 Chris DecherdAssociated Press
2002/03Luke HuntAgence-France Presse
2003/04Michelle VachonFreelance
2003/04 Michelle VachonFreelance
2005/06Bronwyn SloanEFE
2006/07Bronwyn SloanEFE
2007/08Bronwyn SloanEFE
2008/09 Brian CalvertVoice of America
2009/10Patrick FalbyAgence-France Presse
2010/11Robert CarmichaelDeutsche Presse-Agentur
2011/12Robert CarmichaelDeutsche Presse-Agentur
2012/13Rick ValenzuelaFreelance
2013/14 Rick ValenzuelaFreelance
2014/15 Rick ValenzeulaFreelance
2015/16 Lauren CrothersFreelance
2016/17Nathan ThompsonFreelance
2017/18Nathan ThompsonFreelance
2018/19David Hutt
Ate Hoekstra